UG BORDEAUX becomes
BORDEAUX FAMILIES

A FAMILY
OF FAMILIES

Since 1934, a little less than a century looks back upon us. Back then, in order to survive a time of deep crisis, 126 winegrowers joined forces to create the Cave Intercommunale de Sauveterre-de-Guyenne.

After having regrouped along the years with the Caves Louis Vallon and Sauveterre-Blasimon-Espiet, the union now includes 300 families that, above all, consider themselves as such. This is why they chose to rename the company “Bordeaux Families”, like the many grapes of a single cluster.

Bordeaux Families’ aim is simple and comprehensive: produce wines from the vineyard to the cellar, and sell these wines, whether in bottles or in bulk.

LAND
AMONG
THE FINEST
LANDS

Most of the Bordeaux Families vines are found in the heart of the Bordeaux vineyards, nestled between the right bank of the Garonne to the south, and the left bank of the Dordogne to the north.

It is the kingdom of the Sauvignon grape, the Semillon grape, and the Muscadelle grape, varieties that are primarily used to produce the dry or sweet white wines typical of the region.

Here, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon are mainly blended together into high-quality red wines whose production is rising steadily.

SAVOIR
FAIRE
THAT IS
ANYTHING
BUT QUAINT

True know-how never sleeps! To remain competitive, we regularly apply new techniques and review our traditional work flows: latest-generation pneumatic presses, automated control of all flows, elevator, routing chain, smooth tilting, etc. Over time, we have acquired a wide array of tools to continually improve the quality of our wines in a way that respects … tradition.

ROOTED IN
DEEPLY-HELD
VALUES

Freedom

Paradoxically, the cooperative is an instrument of freedom.

First, the sharing of certain tasks and operations enables the winegrowers to find the freedom to focus on their core business.

Second, freedom makes it possible for the winegrowers to undertake new projects, to innovate, to take action, and to develop their skills according to their individual convictions and values, which can also be shared and thus become collective.

Courage

There is no such thing as freedom without courage.

And also, quite simply, the courage to fight approximations, easy options, and mediocrity. The courage to stand up, together, to the vagaries of weather, and, sometimes, to hostility and lack of understanding.

Solidarity

The cooperative model is becoming both a sign of intelligence and of modernity.

In a world where national cooperative models are being profoundly shaken, the solidarity of the Bordeaux Families model (in the agricultural sector, which is also suffering) is exemplary. Between trade and war, cooperation is the most effective road to peace and stability.

Solidarity is the starting point of that road.

0
employees
0
members
0
hectares of vineyards including 280 hectares that are organically cultivated
0
estates

WE HAVE
ALWAYS
NEEDED
THE EARTH

Today more than ever, the earth needs us. The future of the vine and of those who cultivate it depends on this individual and collective realization.

The families of Bordeaux Families take care of the earth, which, in turn, takes care of them. Every innovation includes a proposal designed to respect the environment. Every winegrowing initiative strengthens the bond between winegrowers and their land in a spirit of deep respect. Behind the certifications, the labels, and the accreditations demonstrating the commitment of Bordeaux Families to remain on the path to a true ecological transition lies a recognition of and visceral attachment to the vine and to the earth, but also and especially between the families themselves.

Today, Bordeaux Families is the leading producer of Bordeaux wines and Crémant de Bordeaux sparkling wines. The vineyards are cultivated in an environmentally responsible manner. Committing to sustainable winegrowing is its priority. As a member of the Agri Confiance initiative since 2005, Bordeaux Families is progressing toward HVE3 certification and has 10000 hectares that are part of the Terra Vitis environmental certification network.

OUR
COMMITMENTS

With 280 hectares of organically cultivated vineyards, we are bringing new techniques to the vine. This enables us to take our eco-responsible practices further. We have an ambitious yet realistic plan to transition to organic farming: 1,000 hectares in 5 years, representing 20% of the union’s total production as a first step.

ISO 9001 (Bureau Veritas)

This is a voluntary commitment that places quality at the center of the organization, management, production, and sale of our products.
This commitment enables us to continually improve the performance of every entity involved in our cellars as well as the traceability of our wines.

Terra Vitis

With 1,000 hectares cultivated in compliance with the Terra Vitis certification, we place equal weight on the three pillars of sustainable development: environment, society, and economy.
Observation of the field, sharing of experiences, and mutual aid are the key strengths of the Terra Vitis network.

HVE3

Systematically choosing alternative techniques over the use of chemical products, we have obtained this certification for more than 2,000 hectares of our vineyard’s total surface area. The ultimate aim is to be 100% HVE3 in 2021.
This level, the highest in the category, will guarantee our control of many environmental parameters such as biodiversity, the regulated use of phytosanitary products, etc.

Pesticides classés CMR

Protecting our vineyards without using carcinogenic, mutagenic and reprotoxic substances is entirely possible from a technical standpoint. In order to protect not only our vineyards but also our members, our neighbors, and our environment in general, we are committed to excluding the use of phytosanitary products known or presumed to present a potential human health hazard (CMR1) as well as those suspected to present one (CMR2).

SIMPLE, BEAUTIFUL,
AND GENEROUS

White wines in which Sauvignon Blanc expresses all of its freshness and intensity. Elegant and subtle rosés born of a delightful blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, and Merlot. Red wines in which the duo of Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon plays resonant and particularly aromatic notes. Finally, exceptional sparkling wines in which Sémillon and Cabernet Franc blossom, heightened by a touch of Muscadelle, yielding a soft, floral effervescence.

Just like its vatting room, Bordeaux Families “interprets” its wines in the manner of a piano playing scores written according to the weather, the seasons, the harvests, and the talent of oenologists.

70

medals
won
in
2019

LOUIS VALLON

Louis Vallon is our key offering in the sparkling wines market, which is very broad and is enjoying rapid growth in France and everywhere else, especially as regards Crémants.

Sparkling wines are designed for various audiences that share certain commonalities: whether young consumers interested in history and authenticity or traditionalists looking for reassurance, both groups seek history, authenticity, and quality.

Louis Vallon is an offering that meets consumer expectations with a range of Crémant de Bordeaux wines, aged for over 36 months, and a suitable price point for the core market.

PET’NAT

Pet’Nat by Louis Vallon, the reinterpretation of a great classic, is our sparkling innovation with a contemporary feel.

Using a winemaking approach that relies on the strength and vivacity of organic grapes, it is a return to the source that is in tune with a societal trend: the desire for so-called “naturally sparkling” wines.

Made according to an ancestral method, fruity and refreshing, available in white or rosé, Pet’Nat’ has an accessible price point that will makes it a pillar of the “made differently” wine offering.

SAUV’TERRE

From an environmentally friendly viticulture, Sauv’Terre invites us to rediscover its emblematic grape varieties in the heart of the Bordeaux vineyard. This cuvée has its roots in the historic town of Sauveterre de Guyenne

Our winegrowers work hand in hand to preserve biodiversity and pollinators, enhance the landscape and establish a balance between wine growing environments and the natural spaces that surround them.

The Sauv’terre range includes red, white, and rosé wines.

LES VOILES DE L’ATLANTIQUE

Les Voiles de l’Atlantique is our offering of complex-free, self-assuming conviviality.

Bearing the IGP Atlantique appellation, the range is an invitation to escape, with fresh, light, fruity wines for happy summer moments among friends. A contemporary offering for the present moment, with a price point that reflects the occasion.

EXCELIUM

Selected year after year, our 50 finest parcels are tended by winegrowers who know what excellence is all about.

Always attentive, they are experts in the cultivation of our local grape varieties, Merlot and Cabernet.

The oenologists in charge of winemaking take pride in transforming these grapes into expressive fine wines. Here, maturation takes on its full meaning and time becomes the critical element in determining the wine’s success.

MALLETTE

The Vins de France range represents our winemaking savoir faire that extends far beyond Bordeaux.

Contemporary wines for enjoyment now, with modern blends from several regions, sporting a look that is fresh and original yet a vehicle of heritage, for an offering in harmony with the desires and expectations of the market.

OUR CHÂTEAUX

At Bordeaux Families, we also perpetuate tradition through a rich heritage of Bordeaux châteaux representing the appellations of Bordeaux, Bordeaux Supérieur, and Entre-deux-Mers.

Each of our château wines is a unique reflection of its terroir, as well as the work and passion of its owners.

Primarily composed of red wines, completed by a select few dry white and sweet white wines, clairets, and rosés, the range also includes organic wines and sulfite-free wines.

15, Bourrassat
33540 Sauveterre-de-Guyenne
France

T. +33 5 56 71 10 04
F. +33 5 56 61 59 10

©2020 Bordeaux Families. All rights reserved – Legal notice
Enjoy responsibly.

UG BORDEAUX devient
BORDEAUX FAMILIES

des familles
et surtout
une famille

Depuis 1934, un peu moins d’un siècle nous contemple. À cette époque, pour faire face à une période de crise profonde, 126 vignerons s’unissent pour créer la Cave intercommunale de Sauveterre-de-Guyenne.

Aujourd’hui, avec le regroupement des Caves Louis Vallon et Sauveterre-Blasimon-Espiet, l’union compte 300 familles qui se reconnaissent, avant tout, en tant que telles. Pour cette raison, elles ont choisi de renommer l’entreprise “Bordeaux Families”. Comme les raisins d’une même grappe.

La mission de Bordeaux Families est simple et complète : produire et élever des vins de la vigne aux chais, et commercialiser ces vins, en vrac ou en bouteille.

UNE
TERRE
PARMI
LES PLUS
BELLES
TERRES

La majeure partie des vignes de Bordeaux Families se trouvent au cœur du vignoble bordelais, niché entre la rive droite de la Garonne, au sud, et la rive gauche de la Dordogne, au nord.

C’est le règne du Sauvignon, du Sémillon et la Muscadelle, cépages entrant principalement dans la composition des vins blanc secs ou liquoreux typiques de la région.

Le Merlot et le Cabernet-Sauvignon sont, ici, majoritairement associés pour composer les rouges dont la production tend à se développer pour offrir des vins de grande qualité.

UN SAVOIR-
FAIRE AUX ANTIPODES
DU FOLKLORE

Le vrai savoir-faire ne s’arrête pas à la transmission de pratiques traditionnelles immuables. Il les intègre et, sans cesse, innove : pressoirs pneumatiques dernière génération, pilotage automatisé de tous les flux, ascenseur, chaîne d’acheminement, basculement en douceur… Au fil du temps, Bordeaux Families s’est équipé d’outils destinés à améliorer continuellement la qualité de ses vins dans le respect de la… tradition.

UN ANCRAGE
DANS DES
VALEURS
PROFONDES

La
liberté

Paradoxalement, la coopérative est un instrument au service de la liberté.

D’une part, la mutualisation de certaines tâches et opérations permet au vigneron de retrouver de la liberté pour se consacrer à son cœur de métier.

D’autre part, la liberté permet d’entreprendre, d’innover, d’agir et de se construire selon des valeurs et des convictions individuelles qui, elles aussi, se mutualisent et deviennent collectives.

Le
courage

Il n’y a pas de liberté sans courage.

Et puis, tout simplement, le courage de se battre contre l’à-peu-près, la facilité et la médiocrité. Le courage de tenir tête, ensemble, aux aléas climatiques et, parfois, à l’hostilité et à l’incompréhension.

La
solidarité

Le modèle coopératif devient à la fois une preuve d’intelligence et de modernité.

Dans un monde où les modèles coopératifs d’état sont sérieusement ébranlés, la solidité du modèle Bordeaux Families (dans un monde agricole, lui-même en souffrance) est exemplaire. Entre le commerce et la guerre, la coopération est la voie la plus efficace de paix et de stabilité.

La solidarité est le point de départ de cette voie.

0
employés
0
adhérents
0
ha de vignes
dont 280 ha
cultivées en bio
0
propriétés

LES HOMMES
ONT TOUJOURS
EU BESOIN DE
LA TERRE

Aujourd’hui, la terre a, plus que jamais, besoin des hommes. L’avenir de la vigne et de ceux qui en vivent dépend de cette prise de conscience individuelle et collective.

Les familles de Bordeaux Families prennent soin de la terre qui, à son tour, prendra soin d’elles. Chaque innovation s’accompagne d’une proposition destinée à respecter l’environnement. Chaque initiative viticole renforce le lien qui unit les vignerons à leurs terres dans le plus grand respect de celles-ci. Derrière les certifications, les labels et les accréditations démontrant l’engagement de Bordeaux Families dans la voie d’une réelle transition écologique, se cachent une reconnaissance et un attachement viscéral à la vigne, à la terre qui les porte et aussi, surtout, des familles entre elles.

Bordeaux Families est aujourd’hui le premier producteur de vins de Bordeaux et de Crémants de Bordeaux. Les vignes sont travaillées dans le respect de l’environnement. S’engager dans une viticulture écoresponsable est sa priorité. Adhérent depuis 2005 à la démarche Agri Confiance, Bordeaux Families évolue vers une certification HVE3 et est engagé sur 1000 hectares en Terra Vitis.

nos
engagements

Avec 280 hectares cultivés en bio, nous apportons des nouvelles pratiques au vignoble. Cela nous permet de mener plus loin nos démarches écoresponsables. Nous avons un plan ambitieux et réaliste de conversion en agriculture biologique : 1000 hectares sur 5 ans soit 20% de la production totale de l’union pour une première étape.

ISO 9001 (Bureau Veritas)

Il s’agit d’un engagement volontaire qui place la qualité au centre de l’organisation, du management, de la production et de la commercialisation de nos produits.
Cet engagement permet l’amélioration en continu des performances de chaque entité de notre cave et la traçabilité de nos vins.

Terra Vitis

Avec 1000 hectares cultivés selon la certification Terra Vitis en 2019, nous nous appuyons de manière égale sur les trois piliers du développement durable : l’environnement, le social et l’économie.
L’observation du terrain, le partage d’expériences et l’entraide sont la force du réseau Terra Vitis.

HVE3

Privilégiant systématiquement les techniques alternatives à l’emploi de produits chimiques, nous passons cette certification pour plus de 2000 hectares de nos surfaces. L’objectif à terme est d’être 100% HVE3 en 2021.
Cet échelon, le plus élevé de la catégorie, garantira notre maîtrise de nombreux paramètres environnementaux comme la biodiversité, l’utilisation régulée des produits phytosanitaires…

Pesticides classés CMR

Protéger nos vignes sans recourir aux produits dits “cancérigènes, mutagènes et reprotoxiques” est possible d’un point de vue technique. Qu’il s’agisse de produits phytosanitaires dont le risque est avéré sur l’homme (CMR1) ou avec une suspicion mais pas de preuve (CMR2), nous nous sommes engagés à les exclure de nos pratiques aussi bien pour protéger nos vignes que nos adhérents, notre voisinage et, plus généralement, notre environnement.

DES VINS
SIMPLES,
BEAUX ET GÉNÉREUX

Des vins blancs où le Sauvignon blanc exprime toute sa fraîcheur et son intensité. Des vins rosés élégants et subtils issus d’un bel assemblage de Cabernet-Sauvignon, de Cabernet Franc et de Merlot. Des vins rouges où le duo Merlot et Cabernet-Sauvignon joue des notes profondes et particulièrement aromatiques. Enfin, des Crémants exceptionnels où s’épanouissent le Sémillon et le Cabernet Franc, relevés d’une touche de Muscadelle, pour produire une bulle fine et élégante.

À l’image de sa cuverie, Bordeaux Families interprète ses vins comme sur un grand orgue dont les partitions s’écrivent au gré du climat, des saisons, des vendanges et du talent des œnologues.

70

médailles
remportées
en 2019

LOUIS VALLON

Louis Vallon est notre cœur de marché sur les vins effervescents, marché très large et en forte progression en France et sur tous les marchés, et plus particulièrement sur les Crémants.

Les vins effervescents s’adressent à des publics différents, mais qui se retrouvent : jeunes consommateurs épris d’histoire et authenticité ou traditionalistes à la recherche de réassurance, tous sont à la recherche d’histoire, d’authenticité et de qualité.

Louis Vallon est une offre adaptée aux attentes des consommateurs, avec une gamme de vins en Crémant de Bordeaux, élevé plus de 36 mois, avec un positionnement prix adapté au cœur du marché.

PET’NAT

Pet’Nat de Louis Vallon, réinterprétation d’un grand classique, est notre innovation bulles dans l’air du temps.

Avec un mode d’élaboration qui repose sur la force et la vivacité des raisins biologiques en bouteille, c’est un retour aux sources qui correspond à une tendance sociétale : l’appétence pour les vins dits “pétillants naturels”.

Élaboré selon la méthode ancestrale, fruité et désaltérant, proposé en deux expressions blanc et rosé, Pet’Nat’ a un positionnement prix accessible qui en fera un pilier de l’offre des vins “faits autrement”.

SAUV’TERRE

Issu d’une viticulture respectueuse de l’environnement, Sauv’Terre nous invite à redécouvrir ses cépages emblématiques au cœur du vignoble bordelais. Cette cuvée prend ses racines dans la ville historique de Sauveterre-de-Guyenne.

Nos viticulteurs travaillent main dans la main pour préserver la biodiversité et les pollinisateurs, valoriser le paysage et instaurer un équilibre entre les milieux viticoles et les espaces naturels qui les entourent.

La gamme Sauv’terre se décline en rouge, blanc et rosé.

LES VOILES DE L’ATLANTIQUE

Les Voiles de l’Atlantique est notre offre de convivialité décomplexée et assumée.

Élaborée en IGP Atlantique, la gamme est une invitation à l’évasion, avec des vins frais, légers et fruités, pour des moments conviviaux et estivaux entre amis.

Une offre d’aujourd’hui, pour les moments présents, avec un positionnement prix en rapport avec l’occasion.

EXCELIUM

Sélectionnées années après années, les 50 meilleures de nos parcelles sont travaillées par des vignerons qui recherchent l’excellence.

Une attention de tous les instants est portée par nos viticulteurs, experts de la conduite de nos cépages locaux, Merlot et Cabernet.

Les œnologues en charge de la vinification mettront un point d’honneur à transformer ces raisins en vin de très belle expression. L’élevage prend ici tout son sens et le temps est l’élément clé à la réussite de ce vin.

MALLETTE

La gamme de Vins de France représente notre savoir-faire œnologique sublimé au-delà de Bordeaux.

Offre d’aujourd’hui, avec des assemblages modernes de plusieurs régions pour les moments présents, elle arbore un look décalé, moderne mais vecteur d’héritage, pour une offre adaptée aux attentes du marché.

NOS CHÂTEAUX

Chez Bordeaux Families, nous cultivons aussi la tradition avec un riche héritage de “petits châteaux” bordelais recouvrant les appellations Bordeaux, Bordeaux Supérieur et Entre-deux-Mers.

Chacun des vins de nos châteaux est le reflet de son terroir, et du travail et de la passion qu’y a dédié son exploitant.

Composée essentiellement de vins rouges, complétée de quelques vins blancs secs et moelleux, de claret et de rosé, la gamme s’enrichit de vins cultivés en bio, et d’une offre sans sulfites.

15, Bourrassat
33540 Sauveterre-de-Guyenne
France

T. +33 5 56 71 10 04
F. +33 5 56 61 59 10

©2020 Bordeaux Families. Tous droits réservés – Mentions légales
L’abus d’alcool est dangereux pour la santé, sachez consommer avec modération.